Skip to content Skip to footer links

Joan Jonas at Dia Beacon

Dia Beacon, November 3, 2022

Joan Jonas
Long-term view, Dia Beacon

This exhibition brings together three collection works by Joan Jonas, a founding figure of video and performance art of the 1960s and 1970s. Presented in Dia Beacon’s lower-level galleries, the exhibition features the large-scale multimedia installation The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things (2004), which was commissioned as a performance for Dia Art Foundation in 2005–06, and two recently acquired works, Stage Sets and After Mirage (Cones/May Windows) (both 1976). Collectively, the three works present a compelling trajectory of Jonas’s oeuvre from the pivotal year of 1976, when Jonas decisively turned to translating nonlinear performance and video into performance installations, to the evolution of the artist’s work thirty years later.

Support provided by Bloomberg Philanthropies

Directed and edited by Graham Mason
Director of Photography: Ian McAlpin
Sound Mixer: Ryan McGlade
Original music for interview video composed by Bennett Young
Piano score for The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things composed and performed by Jason Moran
Interview conducted by Kelly Kivland

Dia Project Staff: Karey David, Katherine Ellis, Laura Fields, Hannah Gompertz, Jenn Kane, Kelly Kivland, Theodora Bocanegra Lang, Deirdre O’Dwyer, and Dan Wolfe

Special thanks to Joan Jonas
© 2022 Dia Art Foundation
All works by Joan Jonas © 2022 Joan Jonas/Artist Rights Society (ARS), New York

Get Dia News

Receive Dia News and be the first to hear about events and exhibitions happening at our locations and sites.