Joan Jonas

1 / 1

Joan Jonas: The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things; 15th Anniversary Edition


Members $28.00

Reissued for the 15th anniversary of this volume and during Joan Jonas’s first major US museum show in fifteen years, this catalogue documents the deep, immersive performance The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things, originally commissioned by Dia and responding to German art historian Aby Warburg’s essay on his visit to the American Southwest. The book includes a statement from the artist, scene-by-scene descriptions with photos, a conversation between Joan Jonas and Jason Moran (who composed music for the performance), and an essay by Lynne Cooke, a senior curator at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, and former curator at Dia. With a new reflection from the artist looking back on this groundbreaking performance, the anniversary edition is a tangible manifestation of the ongoing significance of Jonas’s work.

Publication Details

Publication date
76 pages
8.5 x 10.5 in
Publication credits
Artist statement by Joan Jonas. Contributions by Lynne Cooke and Jason Moran. Preface by Jessica Morgan

Get Dia News

Receive Dia News and be the first to hear about events and exhibitions happening at our locations and sites.